TL;DR
Get books and cozy reading nights delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
The Good Trade has published a gift guide for people who would rather receive experiences or useful services than accumulate more possessions. Its suggestions include paid newsletters, online classes, a clothing take-back service, cookware and pillows; product details and prices come from the publication, which says it may earn commissions from purchases.
The Good Trade has published a gift guide for people who would prefer experiences, subscriptions or useful services over another conventional present. The list spans online classes, paid newsletters, clothing decluttering, cookware and pillows, giving shoppers options at different price points while emphasizing gifts that match a recipient’s interests or daily needs.
The recommendations include Substack paid subscriptions, which the guide says start at $5 a month or $50 a year, and a Skillshare subscription, listed as starting at $42 for three months. The Good Trade describes these as ways to support readers, writers and people interested in learning creative skills. It says Skillshare offers gift subscriptions for three, six or 12 months and lists classes in areas such as crafts, photography and animation. The supplied material does not specify the date on which those prices were checked.
Other suggestions combine a service with a practical outcome. The guide recommends Trashie’s Take Back Bag, listed at $20 and up, for sending in eligible clothing, shoes and home textiles for sorting and possible reuse or recycling. It also features the Our Place Wonder Oven Pro, priced at $325, and Avocado organic pillows, listed from $79. The publication presents the oven as an eight-in-one countertop appliance and says Avocado offers pillows for different sleeping needs.
The Good Trade says its editors research and test products and that it may receive a commission from purchases made through some links. That commercial disclosure matters when reading recommendations: the guide is an editorial shopping feature, not an independent assessment of every product or a report comparing the full market.
Gifts That Match How People Live
The guide addresses a common shopping challenge: choosing something thoughtful for a person who does not want more belongings. Its range of options shows that “experience gifts” can mean more than tickets or outings. A subscription can provide ongoing reading, a class can support a hobby, and a take-back bag can help someone clear out items already at home. Practical goods, meanwhile, may be useful when they answer a need the recipient has actually expressed.
For shoppers, the central takeaway is to start with the person rather than the product. A paid newsletter may suit someone who reads a particular writer, while a cooking appliance makes sense only for someone who cooks and has space for it. The guide’s framing is an editorial recommendation, not proof that every recipient prefers non-material gifts or that these products will be right for everyone.
Popular right now

Ninja Flip Toaster Oven & Air Fryer, 8-in-1, Stainless Steel, SP151

Ninja Foodi 10-Quart DualZone 6-in-1 Air Fryer, Black, DZ302

De'Longhi Rivelia Fully Automatic Espresso Machine with Milk Frother, White
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the Guide Frames Experiences
The Good Trade introduces the list with the idea that some recipients would rather do something than receive another object. It cites a survey finding that 92% of Americans would rather receive experiences than gifts and says studies link experiential gifts with stronger social relationships. The supplied source material does not identify the survey, its date, its sample or the studies behind those statements, so the figures cannot be independently evaluated from the information provided.
The list also mixes experiences with physical products. The publication describes cookware and pillows as practical gifts, while presenting online learning, subscriptions and clothing reuse as alternatives to conventional gift purchases. Its product descriptions, prices and environmental or certification details are attributed to the guide and the brands; the source material does not provide independent verification for those claims.
““Who in your life would appreciate fewer things and more experiences?””
— The Good Trade
Prices and Claims Need Checking
The source material does not give the guide’s publication date, and prices and promotions may change. It mentions a sale on Avocado products through October 26 but does not state the year, so readers should check current terms before buying. Availability, shipping, subscription renewal rules and local access to services are also not established in the supplied material.
Some figures and product claims require additional sourcing to assess. The guide’s 92% survey statistic is not accompanied here by a survey citation or methodology. Trashie’s statement that nearly 85% of items typically sent to donation centers can end up in landfills is attributed to the company in the guide; the material provides no independent evidence or scope for that estimate. Environmental labels and product performance descriptions should likewise be checked against current brand documentation.
Check Fit Before You Buy
The guide does not announce a follow-up event or new product release. For shoppers, the next step is to check the recipient’s preferences, confirm current prices and terms, and verify that a service is available where they live. Before choosing a physical item, consider whether the person has asked for it and has room for it; before buying a subscription, check its duration, renewal terms and delivery method.
The Good Trade’s recommendations remain a starting point rather than a complete list or independent endorsement of every claim. Readers can consult the linked sellers and service providers for current details, and compare alternatives if cost, materials or environmental impact are important to the recipient.
Key Questions
What is the gift guide about?
The Good Trade’s guide suggests gifts for people who prefer experiences, subscriptions or useful services to accumulating more possessions. It also includes a small number of practical household products.
What are some lower-cost options in the list?
The guide lists Substack paid subscriptions from $5 per month or $50 per year, Skillshare from $42 for three months, and Trashie Take Back Bags from $20. Prices can change, so check the provider before purchasing.
Does the guide include physical products?
Yes. It features an Our Place countertop oven listed at $325 and Avocado pillows listed from $79, alongside subscriptions, learning and decluttering services.
Does The Good Trade earn money from the recommendations?
The publication says it may earn a commission on purchases through some links. Its disclosure does not specify which individual links generate commissions in the supplied material.
Are the survey and environmental figures independently verified here?
No supporting methodology or independent verification is included in the supplied material for the cited 92% survey finding or Trashie’s landfill estimate. The latter is attributed to Trashie by The Good Trade.
Source: thegoodtrade.com
